FOOD!

So recently a few of my fellow voyagers and I have started to think a lot about food. Don’t get me wrong the food here is very good for the resources they have but their resources are no where near the level we can get our hands on in America. I’m really starting to see how spoiled we are on the food front. Here at camp my friend Lucy has started asking people at random times what their favorite food is or their favorite meal/dessert from home, really any question to get the saliva glands running. She’s using her iPad to film these priceless interactions and going to compile them all later to form a video. A normal meal here usually includes a form of bread, either rolls or chapatti; Chapatti is a newfound love of mine actually. It reminds me a lot of Naan bread you can get at Indian restaurants. There is also usually a steamed vegetable with maybe pasta or rice, sometimes a tomato sauce. Cabbage is a staple, usually sautéed with some onions. They’ve attempted to make pizza and mac and cheese both of which are halfway decent. My favorite meal so far is when they serve grilled cheese and tomato soup with fried okra on the side. Another good one is when sauté eggplant. As you can tell from above I’m almost a vegetarian here and not really by choice. I just haven’t really been eating much meat; it hasn’t really appealed to me. The chicken is really good when they serve it but mostly they serve us tough beef. I’m a little nervous for the adjustment back to the states because people say the culture shock going back and the change in diet is harder than coming here. For those of you who know me know that I love my milk, even though we do get fresh milk the only time I drink it is with my tea. I miss my tall pint size Guinness glass of milk at dinner. Also cheese, there is not much cheese here at all. I’ve really only seen it in grilled cheese and even that was questionable. A nice baked Brie with fig or raspberry jam and sliced apples would really do the job!

That was just a brief over view of the food since so many people have been asking me. Don’t take food variety for granted!

This is the buffet where we eat every meal! And that's Judy one of our cooks!

This is the buffet where we eat every meal! And that’s Judy one of our cooks!

Leave a comment